Married by Mistake Chapter 6. Monday Morning

MbM
Standard

Chapter 6. Monday Morning  

Kaylee woke on that Monday morning, against the broad back of Thomas Harte.

Her hand was resting on a nice curve of a hip, slightly fuzzy and warm.

She squeezed… and smiled.

This man, officially her husband, lay with his back to her while she spooned to him after another night of exploration of their bodies.

She lay with her face almost in his hair, her right leg over his, she slowly caressed his ribs, hip and backside, bare as he was also sleeping naked next to her, she slid her hand down the graceful S-curve of his spine. The cheek of his bottom fit in the her hand perfectly, nearly as firm as a soccer ball and just as round.

A sound invaded her happy cuddle moments, some kind of… tapping?

Did he snore? She had never slept next to anyone other than Mel that snored. (This caused her the nickname “Mel Monster” or just “Monster” in their childhood.)

No… he was awake and wrote with the plastic stylus on his notebook while he lay in her – Their – bed.

His bed actually, she had not left the flying boat all weekend, nor had she put on any clothes as she had none here. The only clothing she wore were his t-shirts when she walked on the top of the plane during the day. It had been the longest time she had ever been out of her clothes, even her underwear, than she could remember.

And it pleased her on many levels.

*This is what being a married is about.* She made a soft smile.

But the noise started to disturb her.

“Tom, what are you doing?” She asked when he scratched some more on the surface of his electronic device.

“Writing. I have a deadline in ten days. I need to finish this installment of Leonard the Leafy Sea Dragon”

“Leonard… The what?” She laughed sleepily and crawled on his shoulders, pinning him slightly so she could see what he was writing.

“The leafy sea dragon. A children’s book.” Thomas groaned as she pinned him while he composed. “He has a friend, Wendel the Weedy Dragon that he calls “Weeds” that shows up now and again. It’s a series that follows some of their adventures they have together. It’s sold mainly in Australia, but it is catching on in the USA.”

He rolled over, letting her get comfortable on his chest and showed her some of what he had written. “I have been to Australia and shot a bunch of photos of the sea dragons in their native habitat.”

“Ooh! I have never been to Australia, I’d like to visit there someday!” She smiled. “Maybe we can tour together, I could be hired as your assistant?”

“It would be fun, but we’d need to spend a long time in the air and turn this bird into a flying gas can. Plus, we would spend almost eighteen hours in the air. You might become a little stir crazy.” Thomas chuckled. “I did.”

“You went alone?” She arched her neck and kisses the angle of his jaw, blowing on the damp spot, causing a chill on his skin.

“Yes.” Tom nodded, laughing softly as she teased him with her tongue. “I was going for research and it was the first long-range test of this jet. I did it, however I earned a lecture that it was not the smartest move to do. If I had a problem, there was no one for a backup.“

She pressed her body to his. He was an attentive lover, and until they got the papers to dissolve with the binding contract that was their marriage license, she would do her best to ruin him for any other woman who would wish they were in her place.

“Well, let’s motivate. I need to stop at my place to find some clothes or I’d always be naked on board this floaty flying plane…”

“Flying boat.”

“Yeah, that.” She giggled. “IF you won’t bring out my clothes, I’d just be stuck here.”

“You can wear your dress home or to your car, I’d bet it’s still parked in your apartment’s garage.”

“You went there?”

“Yup, first night! You don’t remember?” Tom gave a soft sigh. “You wanted to leave your car there and a note of where we were going and who you went with. I even had to sign my name and put both hands on your bathroom mirror.” He demonstrated with holding his hands out with fingers splayed.

“Oh. Smart me.” Kaylee laughed. “Well, at least the car is safe!”

A sudden thought, what he said finally sunk in.

“You have my dress? You said I dropped it in the ocean.” Kaylee looked at him.

“I saved it. I put it in the washer-dryer.”

“A dryer? On an airplane?”

“Yup, a jet-dryer!” Tom’s eyes twinkled at the joke. “It goes with the shower and other amenities. I can do minor loads of laundry. The sheets and so forth. The blankets however… I’ll need to send those out for cleaning.” He said as they got up and stepped out of the bedroom.

Pulling on a panel in the small room to the side and exposed an electric all-in-one washer/dryer.

Kaylee sat on the edge of the bed, looked around and laughed, they had wrecked his room.

*Our room.* She reminded herself.

“This plane will never be the same again.” Kaylee said as he brought her dress back, clean and dry.

“Not this room.” Thomas laughed with her. “I’ll save manuscript on the cloud and then we will take the water taxi to shore. I’ll rent a car and we can swing by your place so you can pick up what you need.”

“No, we can ride to shore together, but I need to head to college and meet a professor so I can earn credit for finals. I had such a horrid day last Friday and I’m need to meet with him to arrange to retake the art finals test. I had made a deal to meet with him to earn credit and beg if I need. I will be in his office in the next two hours.”

“What kind of deal did you accept?” Tom asked.

“I didn’t set anything in stone, but, I need to make sure it’s extra credit for art. He asked me if I would agree to pose for a class.”

“But, you said finals? Doesn’t that mean classes have ended?”

Kaylee paused for a moment.

“He teaches on the side too, so probably what it is.”

“Maybe.” Thomas pulled on his chin. “You may be thinking about annulment of this marriage, but until then, I’m sworn in as your hero and protector.”

“The vows didn’t say that.” Kaylee said and grinned. “But, thank you. That makes me feel like you want to be a hero. That makes me feel good.”

“No, the vows don’t say that, but it’s implied.” He said with a wink. “And yes, being your hero kind of inspires my muse, too.”

Kaylee gave a small laugh, reminded of what caused her first conversation with her husband, then this — the worst that could happen.

But it pleased her that he still took his job as husband seriously and worried about her without expecting the same in return.

*Hah! My friends said “It’s complicated.” They have no clue how complicated it could become!* This tickled her soul.

Tom went to the front of the flying boat to enter his notes in on a computer that he built into a desk.

A connection to his ongoing life and a connection to an area that she was clueless to what he did with his notes.

She was an artist, he was a writer and, she had to admit, an artist with his words.

*Odd isn’t it?* She the question rattled in her head.

They were both Virgo in the Zodiac and she needed to read up on their compatible nature.

 

Sail into the harbor of my soul; tell me your heart

