ArcheryTalk of the Night

Standard

Now, over the months, I’m shooting at ever smaller targets-  bottle caps (The Cheap Archer here.)  With depression that sneaks in, on a few really low days, the arrows and focusing on the targets 30 paces away help.

For you folks with the telescopic optical sights, stabilizers, balance beams, pulleys and such, I appreciate your ability to shoot. But I keep it to the difficult, organic side.

10,000 years if archery history, I shoot with a longbow- my newest friend.  It sits next to me along with the vintage recurve I purchased for US$7.50 (Sans string, I had to buy that separately for US$3.50).

Now, that said: The targets.

A 30 mm cap from a milk jug, made of low density polyethylene. Very light, and more durable than the previous, larger bottle caps I used.

To make matters more difficult. I punched a small hole in two of the said LDPE caps. Hung them by a kite string on a small stick of bamboo that swings and rotates slowly (sometimes fastly) in the wind. I have hit it all week in oblique hits as it spins and swings in the air. The slightest breeze moves the cap. it is a challenge.

Tonight, however, was something different.  That was a an impressive (to me) shot. It was breezy, and you have to track the target and anticipate where it might be when the arrow gets there.  But I still buried the bottle cap into the target backstop.

That made my night.  Depressed? yeah, still. But I feel a little accomplished. Plus I have gotten the writing more focused today.

Come shoot with me. 😀 I’ll supply the bow and the arrows.  We can scour the area for targets. Leaves, bottles, caps, even an odd shoe I see on the side of the road now and again… and recycle them at the same time.

Stuck Target into the backstop

Small target buried into target backstop. Note string. 

3 thoughts on “ArcheryTalk of the Night

    • And CHEAP! I use a hex-wrench (Allen wrench) over a hex nut and tap the back of the allen wrench with a hammer to punch a small hole in the bottle cap, then tie a string through it so it swings in the breeze.

      Like

Sail into the harbor of my soul; tell me your heart

