Dragon Master University Chapter 10. The First Days

Standard

X. The First Days

Once again, in the wicker basket, Jona was heading to school for the beginning of the term at the autumn equinox. A pretty girl from the eastern isles, her hair the color of a sunrise.

“I’m Keva, my parents are both Dragon Masters and they appointed me after my folks talked to the council of professors.” She smiled at the group of other kids as they raced along the clouds.

A giant frost wyvern, related to dragons but with no front legs, only two wings and two hind legs carried them along.

A gentle landing, easily as good as the first ride, Jona laughed as a student who was first out of the giant wicker basket and hugged the ground whispering “Never-never-ever-never-never again! I do not want to ride in those!”

Jona laughed as the boy had stood up and stopped being terrified. He had held on to the edge of the wicker basket, his belt latch had drawn so tight that he had trouble breathing. He had gone the full length of the braided cord, and then some.

“It’s my third year here, I do that every time. I hate riding in those things. If people were meant to fly, we would have wings like the dragons. You know that, if the dragon slipped? That is a long ways to the ground. Never do I want to leave earth. My feet belong on the land or in the water. Not the air.”

“He makes that speech every year, I’m told.” Keva whispered into Jona’s ear after the boy’s panicked speach.

“They call me Screaming Eagle to my face, a great warrior’s name, but they whisper behind my back they say ‟Screams like a Baby” when I come home.” He said quietly as he wiped his hand over his forehead. “But, no one will ride in the basket, no one chosen of my family will come to learn about the world.”

“Well at least you don’t have a baby dragon that thinks you are its mother.” Jona said as sprite landed on top of his head and clicked a happy familiar sound to the returning Jona after the family had visited a few weeks before and had left the small dragon with the pretty swimmer-dragon, Kolo, the university secretary of admissions.

All the students gathered in the central part of the old volcano, Newest students surrounded the teachers in the center as the more senior students passed by and continued onto their dorms and home rooms.

Jona looked around, Screams Like a Baby, reminding himself the boy’s name is Screaming Eagle, headed off into the dorms of Water Dragons, the great Green Spire dominated by the a great statue of the water dragon’s queen.

Jona wondered what his mom and dad did on their first day, making note to ask them.

Not for the first time in recent days, Jona laughed at the ordinary and mundane life he left at  the old school.

Sail into the harbor of my soul; tell me your heart

