Flee chapter 5. Debriefing

Standard

5. Debriefing

 

The group walked into the cafeteria , Zac carried  the skull like a prized science experiment, carefully turning it over in his hand as they all sat down. The blue-green eyes of the youth from west of Brisbane sparkled with high intelligence and excitement of the new treasure. 

Archer poured himself a coffee in a styrene cup from a stack he had found in a cabinet, handing one each to Andrea and to Al.

“So what happened down there?” Al asked.

Archer took a tentative sip of the steaming black water while Andrea spoke.

“We entered the classroom, and I would hazard a guess that it was asleep and we surprised it. I bet it wasn’t even aware we were in the building.” Andrea said to Al, as she sat with the others in what was once a cafeteria.

“If Andrea had not seen it and fired first, I’m not sure we would have survived.” Archer added. “It came straight at her and my aim was not on. I shot the wrong shadow.”

Stormy found some herbal tea in a cabinet, saying it would be better for Archer, taking away his coffee.

“You sure I can’t have the coffee?” Archer sounded exasperated. “It doesn’t bother me.”

Stormy gave Archer an icy look and shook her head. “I’m worried about your caffeine intake.”

“I was lucky, it happened to come over the table where I was pointing the riot gun, I pulled the trigger when it startled me.” Andrea said. “I was not tracking it. It just moved into my line of fire with that face and those eyes.”

Al chuckled and turned to the Archer.

“How did you decide to shoot it with that arrow you made from a dowel?” Al shook his head in disbelief. “I know you carry that one you keep fooling around with. What made you think of that?”

“Well, I wasn’t sure, but if I was wrong, we were in for a hell of a fight.” The emerald eyes of the Yank still twitched with the adrenaline in his system, left over from the fight for his and Andrea’s life. “But, one way to destroy a vampire is to run it through the heart with a stake.”

“Okay,” Al pulled at his ear. “I don’t quite follow. What you are getting at?”

“Okay, wooden stake in the chest. Can it be thrown? Could it be larger? A spear? Wooden shafted and driven through the chest?” Archer said softly.

“Um, yes, it follows.” Al said. “Okay.”

“Okay, then what is the difference between an arrow and a spear? A javelin and an arrow? Size? So, I used that wooden arrow that I have worked on.” The red-head shrugged.

“You thought that during the fight?” Zac said. “Wow.”

“Well,” Archer chuckled, “A significant deal more than that, but I’m being succinct about it.”

“Heh, my friend, if you think that fast after you drink your coffee, don’t you ever quit.” Gail laughed, softly. 

Everyone except Stormy chuckled, who failed to appreciate the humor in Archer living on caffeine.

2 Dracul Skulls ("Noble" caste, Possibly "Royal" Ref. Van Helsing, Et al, "Identification of skulls" Copyleft 1901 Royal Underground press.) in 2 views.  Left skull buried in bag of garlic under unknown church, skull on right was placed on display in London Museum until lost during air raids of WWII, presumed destroyed.

2 Dracul Skulls (“Noble” caste, Possibly “Royal” Ref. Van Helsing, Et al, “Identification of skulls” Copyleft 1901 Royal Underground press.) in 2 views. Left skull buried in bag of garlic under unknown church, skull on right was on display in London Museum. Skull lost during WWII air raids when a bomb struck the museum, authorities presume the attack destroyed the skull. But no part of the skull could be found.

3 thoughts on “Flee chapter 5. Debriefing

    • Thank you! I will endeavor to keep up the good work. As a side note; this story was a rejection from a magazine. So I re-wrote and cleaned up a lot of loose ends and had some fun with it. Hope you enjoy it to the end.

      Like

Sail into the harbor of my soul; tell me your heart

